Time Machine automatically backs up your entire Mac

Time Machine automatically backs up your entire Mac, including system files, applications, accounts, preferences, email messages, music, photos, movies, and documents. Sometimes, backing up every single item on your computer is not such a good thing and may take up valuable space on your external drive.

You can exclude items from a Time Machine backup to save space on your backup disk or if you just don’t want to backup certain files. Follow the steps below.

  1. Open System Preferences, and then click ‘Time Machine’
  2. Select ‘Options’
  3. Specify which items you don’t want to be backed up

To specify an item that shouldn’t be backed up, click Add (+), and then select one or more items. You can also drag items to the list. To remove an item from the list, select it, and then click Remove (-).

The backup disk itself is automatically included in the list of items that shouldn’t be backed up, so there is no need to manually add this to the list.

tm_starfield

 

Post Author: Tech Review